Companion Orders

Pure, antient Freemasonry consists of three degrees, those of Entered Apprentice, Fellowcraft and Master Mason. These degrees are conferred on candidates in their Lodge.

Once those three degrees are completed, a Freemason has the opportunity to join other orders, known as Companion Orders, which provide a wide variety of ceremonies and which may enhance a Freemason’s masonic experience. There are over 25 such companion orders although not all are available in New Zealand.

It should be noted that while various degrees may be offered, these are not superior to the base three degrees which every Freemason should attain – they literally are only companion or appendent degrees.

The Royal Arch

For a Freemason in an English Lodge, it is expected that, after completing their third degree, they will next join the Royal Arch and be exalted in that order. The Royal Arch is said to complete the Third Degree and is referred to as the Supreme Degree.

Closely associated with the Prince of Wales Lodge No. 1338 is Auckland Royal Arch Chapter No. 1338. It is one of 13 English Royal Arch Chapters in New Zealand.

For more information about the Royal Arch, go to:

Mark Master Masons

The Mark referred to in its title takes its name from the mark or symbol with which the stonemason identified his work. The real message conveyed by the advancement ceremony is one of contemplation of human strengths and weaknesses.

There are 10 English Mark Master Masons Lodges in New Zealand.

For more information about Mark Master Masons, go to:

Royal Ark Mariners

The Royal Ark Mariner degree is based on the legend of Noah.

Each Royal Ark Mariner Lodge, of which there are 7 in New Zealand, are said to be ”moored” to a Mark Master Masons Lodge and the Mark Master Mason degree must be completed before a brother can be elevated in this degree.

For more information, go to:


Ancient and Accepted Rite, otherwise known as the Rose Croix

The Ancient and Accepted Rite derives from the Rite of Perfection, which developed in France mainly in the quarter-century before September 1762. It is known in USA and some other countries as the Scottish Rite.

Before being perfected in the order, a member must profess a belief in a Trinitarian God.

Only one English Rose Croix Chapter remains in New Zealand but there are many Scottish and New Zealand Chapters.

​For more information go to: 

Order of the Secret Monitor

This order, also known as the Brotherhood of David and Jonathon, is framed upon the principles of self sacrifice; of mutual trust, watchful Brotherly care; of warning in time of danger; solace in time of sorrow; and skilful and effective friendly advice in every circumstance of life.

Only two English Conclaves of the order remain in New Zealand but there are a number of New Zealand Conclaves.

For more information go to:


Allied Masonic Degrees

The Order has five Degrees; the Degree of St Lawrence the Martyr; the Degree of the Knights of Constantinople; the Degree of Grand Tilers of Solomon; The Red Cross of Babylon and The Holy Order of the Grand High Priest. Every Candidate must be a Mark Master Mason and a Companion of The Holy Royal Arch.

There are 6 Councils of the Allied Masonic Degrees in New Zealand.

For more information go to:


The Operatives

The full name of this order is The Worshipful Society of Free Masons, Rough Masons, Wallers, Slaters, Paviors, Plaisterers and Bricklayers.

A Masonic Society which exists to perpetuate a memorial of the practices of operative Free Masons existing prior to modern speculative Freemasonry.

There are 4 Assemblages in New Zealand.

For more information go to:



Other Orders

The following orders are also available in New Zealand:

  • Council of Knight Masons (Irish)
  • Royal Order of Scotland
  • Order of the Knights Templar and Knights of Malta
  • Order of the Red Cross of Constantine
  • Cryptic Council
  • Societas Rosicruciana in Anglia